Howdy - tell me why i shouldnt get an FTR!

broncoguy27

I fixed it with fuelmoto tune. The surging made me crazy as I ride with cruise control often and the surging happened exactly at or around the allowed speed limit which made a half and hour ride highly unnerving. Have to add that I'm a novice rider in my late thirties and this is my first and only bike.
If I was a novice rider now, and my bike did that, I would need new underwear.

MacBayne

Mine has an occasional surge in mid-range, it startled me the first couple times but to read about it or hear about it, you would think the bike explodes or something.
I am going to posit that your bike DOES NOT have a surge in the midrange, but actually has a flat spot.
The FTR has a flat spot between 3000 and 5500 rpm...

broncoguy27

I am going to posit that your bike DOES NOT have a surge in the midrange, but actually has a flat spot.
Weeelllll.... While maintaining speed, not accelerating, the bike tends to stumble a little tiny bit. If you would like to call that a flat spot under no acceleration, that is fine. If you would like to call it Jimmy that is fine. This is why I hate the internet, instead of having a discussion, you want the place semantics games.

MacBayne

Weeelllll.... While maintaining speed, not accelerating, the bike tends to stumble a little tiny bit. If you would like to call that a flat spot under no acceleration, that is fine. If you would like to call it Jimmy that is fine. This is why I hate the internet, instead of having a discussion, you want the place semantics games.
If you want an issue fixed, you have to play the semantic games. It's not my fault you don't know what you are doing.

A stumble at steady speed is not a surge.

I sure hope you don't give advice to people...

ftwftr

If you want an issue fixed, you have to play the semantic games. It's not my fault you don't know what you are doing.

A stumble at steady speed is not a surge.

I sure hope you don't give advice to people...