Sometimes You Just Want to Scream

EllenGtrGrl

It's a gorgeous day here. Perfect for riding, but I'm not out and about on 2 wheels. My FTR 1200 is within 70 miles of requiring its 500 mile break-in maintenance, and the earliest I can get in is 2 weeks from now. So, I'm conserving the rides I have left (about 2, rides of about 30 plus miles each, using routes around where I live) so I can keep my battery charged until I have the break-in maintenance done. :( Still, that's not where the title of this thread comes from - it comes from a motorcycle incident I was almost involved in, that could have ended in tragedy.

Despite being a salaried employee (I'm a Quality Engineer for a local company), I went into work this morning for a few hours, to take a bite out of my workload (it was work, that cannot be done remotely at home). I also brought one of my electric guitars with me (my Fender Telecaster - I've been playing guitar for 41 years [including stints in rock bands, and a local church band]), so I could head directly from work, to my favorite guitar shop, to try out some guitar amps (I ended up buying one [a Blackstar Silverline 50] to replace my ratty old guitar amp). While heading back to my home turf from work in my car, before I got to the interchange, where I would leave northbound I-94, to head west on I-894, I decided to change lanes. I looked as I always do (I don't count on rear view mirrors alone, due there being blind spots in mirrors), and saw I was clear, so I decided to change lanes. I was half way through the lane change, when I started to hear what sounded like a howling 4-cylinder motorcycle engine, so I decided that it would be prudent to abort my lane change, and swerve back over into the original lane I was in. It's a good thing I did. I was not even completely done moving back into my original lane, when some squid, yahoo, Urban Freeway Warrior on his 600 or 1000 super sport, went screaming past me, swerving to make sure he missed my car (since