Essential Tuning Questions - Where to go from here?

Hey Folks,

North TX here; I'm sure you may have seen me asking noob-ass questions trying to get to learn thsi bike inside and out. I've been riding for 15 years and I tuned 29 last month. Well I picked up my 2019 FTR 1200 Base last weekend; just turned over 420-ish miles; and my plan next before March 3rd us leaving for Daytona Bike Week & 2,230 mile trip there and back; if I were to order the TOCE cat delete link pipe, keep the stock muffler/header, would that be possible?

Provided that before I install anything exhaust wise; I get the PV-3 ordered and in-hand?

Some of you might say; "But Jacob, you dumbass paint licker; which part you speaking of?" To which I reply, "This'n: https://www.fuelmotousa.com/i-23897...dzzFXjDfe95JC58-ngx6yo1CGUWv3BEDNFTAwaXugkUow cuz it works with the FACTORY Mufflers and headers as well as other aftermarket slip-on once I do finally decide to save up enough to get a nice SC Project or S&S.

But ya'll have it officially 432 miles; and cold starts in the morning suckssss; it's barely 50 degrees out and it sucis. Can't imagine trying to start it without a garage in 32 F weather. But i've got a system down for keeping it running.

PS.PS - Is it worth it to keep the entire exhaust system stock while I do the road trip to avoid potential issues and JUST do a "Stock Tune +" I keep hearing about. Keep in mind; I'm fine with JUST buying a PV-3 and keeping the exhaust stock for jsut the 2200 trip as long as the PV-3 makes an actual difference on the stock exhaust. Otherwise I'd HAVE to get the tuner AND one piece of the exhaust puzzle to wake it up hopefully.

Attachments

• FORUM_EXAMPLE.jpg
    FORUM_EXAMPLE.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 12

ferraiolo1

2021-2024 IMR Ambassador
Staff member
You need to tune it if you remove the cat. Especially if you’re already having running issues.