Cold Stalls, Throttle Response Glitches, ECU mapping problems/differences

mark.lb

I am not a mechanic or technician and have little technical expertise when it comes to engine control management systems. But I simply have not had many of the problems or glitches that are frequently discussed on the forum. (I do not use a a PV3, and the exhaust system is stock Akrapovic on my FTR Race Replica) I have had all the recommended service done at my dealership at the recommended intervals and that includes ECU updates from Indian. I purchased my bike in Pittsburgh, PA -USA.
Is it possible that the Evaporative Emission Control System that is found on FTRs sold outside of the US to comply with Euro 6 emission standards is at the root of some of these problems? My bike like others sold in the US simply does not have this system installed. Just like removing the catalytic converter and adding an aftermarket exhaust system changes the running characteristics of the engine is it possible that the addition of a EECS also changes the way the engine runs and is tuned.

If I am barking up the wrong tree or simply don’t know what I‘m talking about, please excuse my ignorance....

ferraiolo1

2021-2024 IMR Ambassador
Staff member
Cali sold bikes also received that canister.

I also bought my bike not too far from pittsburg, i had all the issues. Cold stalling, twitchy throttle, low rmp surging. With a completely stock bike. I dealt with it for 700 miles before i had enough and tuned it. It was hands down the best money i spent on my bike so far.

@maxcool has a better explanation as to what the stock tune does incorrectly.

Max Kool

Yeah, it’s not the evap system.

I recall one of my first conversations with Ryan last year when he had just “cracked” the FTR ECU. Many times he wondered “what did they do here, and why?” . There are some wierd parameters here and there.

but hey, it you don’t feel any of this @mark.lb, gobbless. Simple as that.