help with front suspension.

edgelett

Full disclosure - the FTR is the first bike I've ever owned with any kind of adjustable suspension, and while the rear was easy for me to work out and adjust to my weight, the front is confusing the hell out of me.

my front suspension feels pretty damn stiff and I'm trying to work out how to soften it up a little. Reading my owners manual I can see the suspension has adjustable rebound, compression and pre load. but I can only see 1 'nob' for lack of a better word on each fork to adjust?
does the one nob adjust everything I.e. rebound, preloaded and compression? how do you change WHAT it is adjusting? the manual makes a reference to the right side and left side screw slots but I'm not sure what screw slots they're talking about.
the letters R and C are on the right and left fork does that mean the nob on the right fork adjusts the rebound and the left adjusts compression?
how is preloaded adjusted?

again sorry for the complete noob question but these new fancy adjustable forks are very different to my Hornet where the forks are adjusted by changing the springs or oil lol.

Breto